About Us

Mukherjee Society

Mukherjee Memorial School Shahdra Society is an educational society registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860. It was established in the year of 1955, with the sole aim of spreading education based on values and character building focused on India’s cultural heritage. Dr. Shyam Sunder Aggarwal, the President of the Society has a vision for developing children into healthy educated youth who are dedicated to serve the country in different capacity.

Based in the capital city of India – New Delhi, it aims to bring children of the weaker and poor sections of society under mainstream section by spreading education and creating equal opportunities. The society is also registered under section 12A (a) of Income Tax Act, 1961 along with various donation related permissions. All the donations to Mukherjee Memorial School Society are exempted under section 80G (5) (VI) of Income Tax Act, 1961

The Society was established by late Lala Moti Ram Aggarwal. He was born in Pundri (Haryana) and after achieving academic excellence, he set up a flourishing business in Rawalpindi and after partition in Delhi. He was a philanthropist and fully alive to the social responsibilities being Deputy Mayor of the Corporation of Delhi. He gave liberally land and financial assistance for the setting up of schools. He was inspired by the National leader – Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee who had been a cabinet minister after independence, in the Nehru Government.

The Society, from its own resources and by way of liberal donations from the Aggarwal family, have constructed school buildings in the Yamuna Paar area spread over an area of about 3.5 acres (about 14000 sq.mtrs) including playgrounds, skill development centre etc. The buildings are well equipped having 43 rooms,8 laboratories, 2 big halls, 2 libraries, 1 auditorium and all are fitted with proper lighting, fans and ventilators etc.

The Executive Committee of the Society comprises of Dr. Shyam Sunder Aggarwal, the President, Sh.P.K. Aggarwal, Secretary and Sh. S.K. Aggarwal, Sh. A.K. Gupta, Sh. Bhagwan Das, Sh. Gulwondhan Malik, Smt. Manju Aggarwal, Smt. Jayanti Goela And Sh. Rajiv Goela (Treasurer), as Executive members. The society runs its operations from its Registered Office at 203/2, G.T. Road, Shahdara, Delhi -110032

The Society is playing a leading role in spreading a message of protecting environment, saving water etc. and has installed rain water harvesting system, power generation through solar cells, reusing waste paper to make kraft paper and has developed good horticulture in the schools. The Society is in the process of setting up a biogas generation plant using fermentable waste from the school and from the nearby areas.

Apart from giving regular education to the students as mentioned above, on holidays’ and on Sundays’ the Society imparts free quality education to the students from the slum dwelling areas in the vicinity and also provide them books and stationery items etc. – which has been applauded by High Dignitaries

The Society periodically invites experts from different fields to interact with the teachers and the students in the areas of human behaviour, impetus to motivation & social cause like teaching basics for cleanliness, value of duty, rich religious and cultural heritage, of our great country – India. The Society has received blessings from Prime Minister – Sh. Atul Bihari Vajpaee, Deputy Prime Minister – Sh. Lal KishanAdvani and Dr. Ajit Doval presently National Security Advisor to Government of India, besides Chief Ministers and Governors.